Cardiff City has been named Family Club of the Year at the Football League Awards 2013, with the Cardiff City Community and Education Foundation winning the regional prize for the Coca Cola Community Club award.

Julian Jenkins, Tom Gorringe and Scott Young collected the awards at the gala ceremony at The Brewery, London, on Sunday evening in front of over 600 guests from clubs, sponsors and the football industry. This year there were a total of 17 awards with 34 clubs shortlisted for honours.

Cardiff City beat five clubs from across The Football League to the overall award with the final shortlist also comprising of AFC Bournemouth, Brighton & Hove Albion, Doncaster Rovers, Oxford United and Plymouth Argyle.

A previous winner of the award, Cardiff City have continued to innovate and progress their family focussed activity to ensure they remain one of the leading clubs in this area. The club have a sold-out family stand for every game, with over 7,250 season ticket holders and a family friendly ethos throughout the club.

On winning the award, Julian Jenkins, Commercial Director at Cardiff City said: “We have had a huge increase in our fan numbers and we want to give them more than what happens on the pitch. We have got a great backroom team that have worked so hard, so this award is for them because they do a fantastic job, but for the fans as well.”

Divisionally, the Family Club of the Year for League 1 was won by AFC Bournemouth, while the League 2 Award went to Plymouth Argyle.


Award Winners 2013:

npower Championship Player of the Year

Matej Vydra – Watford

npower League 1 Player of the Year

Matt Ritchie – AFC Wimbledon

npower League 2 Player of the Year

Tom Pope – Port Vale

Johnstone’s Paint Young Player of the Year

Thomas Ince - Blackpool

Contribution to League Football

Peter Shilton OBE

Mitre Goal of the Year

Simon Cox – Nottingham Forest

Football Manager Outstanding Managerial Achievement

Phil Parkinson – Bradford City

npower Fan of the Year

Neil Le Milliere – Exeter City


Nick Webster – Derby County

League 1

Pat Raybould – Coventry City

LFE Apprentice of the Year - Championship

Dimitar Evtimov – Nottingham Forest

LFE Apprentice of the Year - League 1

Luke James – Hartlepool United

LFE Apprentice of the Year - League 2

George Sykes – Barnet

The Football League Family Club of the Year

Cardiff City

League 1 Winner

AFC Bournemouth

League 2 Winner

Plymouth Argyle

Tokio Marine Unsung Hero

Billy Neil – Millwall

Highly Commended

John Harriss – AFC Bournemouth

Peter Rhoades-Brown – Oxford United

Coca-Cola Community Club of the Year

Charlton Athletic

Regional Winners

South West – Cardiff City Community Foundation

South East – Charlton Athletic Community Trust

Midlands – Derby County Community Trust

North East – Huddersfield Town Football in the Community

North West – Tranmere Rovers in the Community

PFA Player in the Community

Inigo Calderon – Brighton & Hove Albion

Perform Best Use of Digital

Swindon Town – STFC Christmas ADVENTure

Capital One Credit to the Game

Graham Alexander