Club News

City to travel to Sixfields on Wednesday, 13th August

Cardiff City have been drawn to face Coventry City away in the Capital One Cup first round. The match will take place at Sixfields Stadium on Wednesday, 13th August 7.45pm kick-off. 

This fixture has also been selected for live broadcast on Sky Sports. 

The first round draw in full is as follows:

Oldham Athletic v Middlesbrough

Shrewsbury Town v Blackpool

Sheffield Wednesday v Notts County

Tranmere Rovers v Nottingham Forest

Leeds United v Accrington Stanley

Bolton Wanderers v Bury

Rochdale v Preston North End

Rotherham United v Fleetwood Town

Carlisle United v Derby County

Port Vale v Hartlepool United

Morecambe v Bradford City

Barnsley v Crewe Alexandra

Chesterfield v Huddersfield Town

Blackburn Rovers v Scunthorpe United

Burton Albion v Wigan Athletic

York City v Doncaster Rovers

Sheffield United v Mansfield Town

Reading v Newport County

Bristol City v Oxford United

Brighton & Hove Albion v Cheltenham Town

Coventry City v Cardiff City

Luton Town v Swindon Town

Dagenham & Redbridge v Brentford

Charlton Athletic v Colchester United

Crawley Town v Ipswich Town

Wolverhampton Wanderers v Northampton Town

Yeovil Town v Gillingham

Milton Keynes Dons v AFC Wimbledon

Exeter City v AFC Bournemouth

Stevenage v Watford

Plymouth Argyle v Leyton Orient

Birmingham City v Cambridge Untied

Portsmouth v Peterborough United

Millwall v Wycombe Wanderers

Southend United v Walsall

Ticket details will follow soon.

Cardiff City were one of the Capital One Cup 2014/15, Round One Southern Seeds, which included AFC Bournemouth, Birmingham City, Brentford, Brighton & Hove Albion, Bristol City, Cardiff City, Charlton Athletic, Ipswich Town, Leyton Orient, Millwall, MK Dons, Peterborough Utd, Reading, Swindon Town, Walsall, Watford, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Yeovil Town.

As none of the seeded teams can face each other in this round, City were drawn against one of the southern non-seeds, who were listed as follows: AFC Wimbledon, Cambridge Utd, Cheltenham Town, Colchester Utd, Coventry City, Crawley Town, Dagenham & Redbridge, Exeter City, Gillingham, Luton Town, Newport County, Northampton Town, Oxford Utd, Plymouth Argyle, Portsmouth, Southend Utd, Stevenage, Wycombe Wanderers.

All first round matches are set to take place on the week commencing Monday 11 August 2014. For those fortunate enough to make it to the final, this takes place at Wembley Stadium on Sunday 1 March 2015.