Fixture News

Key dates for the 2017/18 season have been confirmed today, with EFL fixtures returning on the first weekend in August.

EFL fixtures for the 2017/18 season – which are due to be announced on Wednesday 21 June – will see all three divisions of the EFL kick-off over the weekend Friday 4 to Sunday 6 August. The regular season will continue until the weekend of 5 May 2018, when the Sky Bet Championship, Sky Bet League One and Sky Bet League Two will all come to a close.

The EFL Play-Off Finals will then take place on successive days at Wembley Stadium over a Bank Holiday weekend in May, starting with the Championship Play-Off Final on Saturday 26, ahead of the season finale for League One on Sunday 27 and League Two on Monday 28 May. The order of the Play-Offs has been reversed – i.e the Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final will take place on the Saturday - to assist with international call-ups ahead of the 2018 World Cup.

A full fixture programme will take place over the festive period - Saturday 23 December, Boxing Day, Saturday 30 December and Monday 1 January 2018.

Round One of the EFL Cup – which will be known as the Carabao Cup next season - will take place immediately after the season openers, with midweek slots on week commencing Monday 7 August. The majority of Premier League teams will join the competition from Round Two although those competing in European competitions will join in Round Three. The 2018 final is scheduled for Sunday 25 February.

Key Dates
Sky Bet EFL fixtures announced - 21 June 2017
Sky Bet EFL season starts - weekend of 5 August 2017
Carabao Cup starts - week commencing 7 August 2017
Sky Bet EFL regular season ends - weekend of 5 May 2018
Sky Bet EFL Play-Offs - weekend of 26 - 28 May 2018