Watch the Carabao Cup Round One draw this Friday

Club News

World Cup winner Emmanuel Petit, Carabao CEO Sathien Setthasit, British Ambassador to Thailand Brian Davidson and EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey will unveil the 35 Round One ties from the home of the competition’s title sponsor, Carabao Energy Drink. 

Fans will be able to watch the draw unfold live on various platforms, including EFL’s new live streaming platform, iFollow, on Facebook via the Carabao Cup and Carabao UK pages and

Image removed.

Nearly 1.5 million people went to matches in the EFL Cup last season as the competition recorded record breaking attendances.  Victory in the competition’s final will guarantee the winner the first piece of silverware of the domestic season and a place in the Europa League in the following campaign. 

Seventy EFL Clubs will be in the draw with matches scheduled to take place week commencing 7 August, with Sunderland included.  Championship newcomers Hull City and Middlesbrough will join the competition in Round Two alongside the Premier League clubs that are not competing in Europe.

The draw is also regionalised to minimise travelling time for supporters in the first round with seeding decided by a Club’s finishing position in the EFL.  

This year’s final in February saw Manchester United beat Southampton 3-2 in front of over 85,000 people.  The 2017/18 Carabao Cup Final, the 58th in the competition’s history, will take place at Wembley Stadium on 25th February.

South – Seeds

Aston Villa, Birmingham City, Brentford, Bristol City, Bristol Rovers, Cardiff City, Charlton Athletic, Fulham, Ipswich Town, Millwall, Milton Keynes Dons, Norwich City, Oxford United, Peterborough United, Queens Park Rangers, Reading, Southend United, Wolverhampton Wanderers.

South – Non-Seeds

AFC Wimbledon, Barnet, Cambridge United, Cheltenham Town, Colchester United, Crawley Town, Exeter City, Forest Green Rovers, Gillingham, Luton Town, Newport County, Northampton Town, Plymouth Argyle, Portsmouth, Stevenage, Swindon Town, Wycombe Wanderers, Yeovil Town.

First TeamCarabao Cup